Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Double trigger Shotty

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
DiegoTeran polycounter lvl 11
hey guys, been a while since i posted something on here. well im on my 4th quarter in game art at my college, this was a long quarter, took my first character modeling class and first texturing class... i made a old harley quinn for my final and well its not so great lol but i did give her some cool guns i modeled (i think they came out better then the actual character but oh well) would really like some feed back, im still learning how to render, and cameras and lights and so on, so dont be harsh on that, hope topology is ok, this is the high poly, there is no low poly since it wasnt required for the class.

SSGuns1.jpg

SSGuns2.jpg

SSGuns.jpg

Replies

• Razgriz
    Offline / Send Message
    Razgriz keyframe
    Your technical modeling ability is coming along ok, but where this model really suffers is in it's design. Great modeling on a terrible idea will never result in good work. I'm going to take a stab and guess that you either modeled this out of your head without a concept, or didn't use sufficient references and concept art. As someone still learning and figuring out how to model, thats a big no-no.

Think about what the parts on your gun are actually doing, and imagine how it would be held by an actual person. Could a palm actually fit around the handle, and is it a comfortable design? From where you want it to be held, can the finger reach the trigger? I'm also a bit thrown by what looks like a red dot scope mixed with four barrels that have no apparent way to load with ammo. There are also so many random boxes and doodads tacked on that serve no function at all. If your making this for a game, or even for animation, you would find that this would be completely unusable for anything other than a prop that you don't want to be seen a great deal.