Home Technical Talk

Tips for creating with only one photo

If you have tips please post.

Im new to 3dsmax11 and i ran into the problem of only haveing one image to work from,it was a photo that was angled the way 3ds max11's perspective viewport starts in default.One thing i did to create a rough side image of this was to use splines and trace out half of the picture in the perspective viewport.....basicly blocking it out with splines then id convert it to a editable poly and extrude 10.

I kept doing this over and over and if you look in the top viewport you can see it building a side image slowly.I then rendered it and saved the side view as a picture.

Replies

• gsokol
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Um....what? Pictures of whats going on would help a lot here.

Are you saying your trying to make orthographic images from a single perspective image? No idea how you could do that, I would just build it by eye at that point.
  • renderhjs
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    renderhjs sublime tool
    the title is not saying much either, very confusing post :(

Maybe you are referring to image modeling? or camera mapped modeling? 3dsMax has some build in tools to match a camera in 3d space to a 2d image by referencing a few points in the picture and 3d space. Its called camera match or so, just google it. Otherwise what gsokol said, just post images: makes it always easier for us to understand things.

edit: found a nice online resource:
    30.jpg
    tutorial on modeling models based on pictures (what image modeling is)
    http://d2d04grx5ahzvh.cloudfront.net/228_Max_CamMatch/30.jpg
  • Builder_Anthony
    Im sorry i cant really explain this with a photo because i overwrote my origional photo with the side view photo.

I didnt realize that camera trick though renderhdj.
  • renderhjs
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    renderhjs sublime tool
    I am still lost though at what you want :(
  • Mark Dygert
    Options