Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Crash coursing a character

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
Lazerus Reborn polycounter lvl 8
Well its been about three months since i last touched 3ds max so while ive got free time, i thought i'd build a character from scratch. Its not finished, i have'nt even touched his face or boots but this is what ive got so far.

render8.jpg

render9-5.jpg

Im no pro that much is obvious, so i was hoping to get some feedback on general improvements to the poly flow. Also if at all someone could point me to a nice aphla plane hair and clothes tut' or even show there workflow on it, it would be greatly appreicated.

Cheers'
-Laz

Replies

• low odor
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    low odor polycounter lvl 17
    what up man..it's a cool start. The Positive is that you started. Jumping in and modeling is the best thing you can do in the beginning. You can read all the tuts and posts on Polycount, but it always comes down to just doing it.

Now about your model. I would check out this link on the Polycount wiki. Then compare. See where you think you could make improvements.

http://wiki.polycount.com/CategoryCharacterModeling?highlight=(\bCategoryCharacter\b)

I would also compare your workflow. Are you making this character for sculpting, or just a straight up low-poly?

keep at it
  • Lazerus Reborn
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the good read low odor :)
    Ive always been a lowpoly artist i just like the clean OCD of it all so i barely pass the 2-4k boundary with my media. It alows me focus more time on handpainting the texture (which has always been a fav' of mine) and creating a reasonable topology.

I could do with alot of practice in normal mapping though, in the good few years ive been playing ive only ever made a few normal maps to my characters and ive never really touched upon 'next gen'