Home General Discussion

I'm really looking forward to trying this keyboard;

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Yozora polycounter lvl 11
Normally I don't really care about keyboards, my current one is just a basic 104 key one with nothing fancy on it and even though I'm a huge fan of hotkeys for everything, I was never really interested in the gaming keyboards that had a bunch of useful macro-able keys.

However I just stumbled upon this!

Razer Anansi Keyboard

It has 7(!) modifier keys, and most importantly, they are moved to the thumb area!
I've always hated using my pinky finger for ctrl/shift/alt, especially when doing combinations like ctrl+g or even the very commonly used ctrl+c and ctrl+v. Look at the way your hand bends when you press those keys, it just looks wrong (and feels wrong to me, even though I've been doing it for 10 years).

It feels even more uncomfortable when either held down for longer than a couple of secs (for example, 3d viewport navigation and sprinting/crouching in FPS, which is why I boud those movement functions to my mouse's thumb buttons) or when rapidly used in combination (for example micro and macroing in RTS)
I guess some people would consider this cheating... well I'm not good enough at any RTS to play competitively anyway and don't have the necessary time/motivation to do it, so who cares :p

Also alt+anything but q or 1 is really awkward no matter which fingers you use (which is why I've remapped alt to caps lock key using another program).

I'm surprised I never thought about having the modifier keys below the space bar before.