Home Technical Talk

Dragon Rig

Hey all, first time posting on here so be gentle :)

I'm in the proccess of creating a dragon rig using both gizmos and sliders/spinners etc for control. This is my first attempt at creating my own creature rig, so any help would be appreciated.

Here's what i have so far:
rigsofar.jpg

The model im using as the example mesh for the rig is from blizzard's World of Warcraft:
rigsofar2.jpg

So far i've created an IK FK blend for the arms and legs(only the upper arm, lower arm and wrist, same for legs). For added help on the gizmos, i've made them scale with the slider for selecting the blend control.

The hands are IK controlled at the moment, i did have them as FK with reaction manager controlling them giving them a finger curl slider, but with that setup it didnt give me the freedom of an IK wrist.

This is really as far as i've got with what i know propperly, the rest is basic spline IK, i.e. the tail, spine and neck.

For the wings im thinking of just a plain IK setup.
rigsofar3.jpg

I'm not sure if its the right way to go about it, so yeah any help is appreciated :)

Replies

• Stromberg90
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Stromberg90 polycounter lvl 11
    It would be nice if you could record a video where you are showing us how the rig works.
    Cause it's almost impossible to see if it looks alright from photo's ;)
  • arcandio
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    arcandio polycounter lvl 9
    It seems like you might want IK on the wing fingers too, depending on what the fly cycle will look like. If it needs to feature a lot of flexing, IK might be easier on you there. But of course you loose a little control for it, so w/e.

It looks like there could be some cool stuff up on the head too, such as for the ears and dangly things on his chin. Animating that kind of stuff would probably add a lot in the way of characterization.

Really sweet rig so far man!
  • Impala88
    Options
    Offline / Send Message