Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[PORTFOLIO]-Dan Pingston

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Dan! polycounter lvl 6
Hey all. I've been reworking my portfolio recently and would love some more eyes on it. I'm still juggling content around so any advice/crits on things to add/drop or design/layout whatever would be appreciated. Thanks.

www.dan-art.com

Replies

• jackalope
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jackalope polycounter lvl 11
    I am not a character artist so I cannot really critique you there but there are a few issues with the site i found:
    the female head sculpt image is linked "Hard Knocks" page
    and the very last image doesn't work when i click it.

I am using google chrome on Windows 7
  • SimonT
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    SimonT interpolator
    Same link problem here. I like you work but i think the plumpkin isn't your best piece so maybe it would be better to set an other painting/3d as start picture.
  • danshewan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    danshewan polycounter lvl 8
    Looking at the sculpts of your various characters, one thing that stands out is that you could really push your sculpted details a lot further. Your diffuse texturing / polypainting is pretty decent, but viewing the sculpts on their own, there seems to be a lot of pretty broad strokes, overlaying pretty simple textural details. I'd take some more time to really push the details of your sculpts. I'd probably show some more texture flats, too.

I like your 2D stuff, though, even if the behold-my-perfect-tits-fairy seems a bit gratuitous. The last image seems to be linking to a local file, though.
  • Dan!
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Dan! polycounter lvl 6
    Thanks for taking the time guys. I fixed the linking issues(doh!) also got rid of the pumpkin. maybe i'll get a blog going for small sketches and holiday shinanigans. Texture flats are on the way