Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Yapika's room.

Hi everyone,

I'm working on my first UDK scene, made from scratchs. Right now, it's composed of 13k tris and several 512²/1024² textures.
I will add some decays and other alpha textures tomorrow, and finish the props... also, it should feature some wet decays or so... and maybe later a bit of interactivity.
Hope you'll like it. Don't hesitate to criticize !

20838064705128_newrnd.jpg

15704558397099_newrnd2.jpg

Replies

• Wiktor
    Offline / Send Message
    Wiktor polycounter lvl 11
    Looking interesting!
    However, I think it's way too lit up.
    Add some darker areas to help guide the eye. :)
  • Sebeuroc
    Offline / Send Message
    Sebeuroc polycounter lvl 13
    Well, I'm not a level designer, but I think this looks pretty sweet. I like the little details you have in there, like the doll especially. Though, the feel I get from this it could use more little odds and ends placed around?

Also, to me the pipes in the ceiling seem just a little out of place... they look more modern than the rest of the scene.
  • paulsvoboda
    Offline / Send Message
    paulsvoboda polycounter lvl 12
    It's looking okay right now. I think its suffering from two things at the moment. Your textures are all very blurry, especially those on the bedsheets and overall the material definition is definitely lacking. You say you are using 512 and 1024 textures. Push these as much as you can, otherwise there not much point to use 1024's. You could try tiling the textures some more and maybe sharpening them to take care of the blurriness. Posting texture flats may help.
    There are also areas in the texture that go to straight black. Your floor texture, which is looking really good, has these dark black lines which is ruining the otherwise really nice texture. Lower the contrast in it, think about using colour instead of black.