Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Marathon Fusion Pistol

Hello, My name is Christian Klump and This my first post for polycount. I am fairly new to Maya so I hope this project will be a learning experience. I look forward to seeing your tips to help me finish this 3D model.

The first picture is the reference I used to make the basic mesh. I photoshopped it further so i can get the scale correct in Maya. The next picture is my screen on my TV I use as a monitor. The screen is my current progress of the Fusion Pistol I am creating.

The problems I face is how to mold this object more. As you can see I moved some verities and that created a shadow on my mesh. I'm still pretty new to Maya and any help would be very helpful.

Thank you and I hope with all your help and guidance I can see this project done.

Klumpmeister

M2.02.2.1.1.gif

marathon_fusion_pistol_by_klumpmeister-d3005t5.png

Replies

• Kewop Decam
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kewop Decam polycounter lvl 9
    wow, your Maya is really cluttered.

Nothing to critique yet because you're like 15 minutes into the project. Work on it more.

Good luck
  • Piflik
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Piflik polycounter lvl 12
    For the state the model is in, you have much to many vertices, I think. Start with a basic blockout to get the major forms right, before going into detail.
  • Klumpmeister
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Yea I am really new to the whole thing. I do have way to many vertices but I found it difficult to get the basic form out without having enough vertices to make it with.

Also I saw earlier that there is a top side to the reference to get the slender shape of the pistol.

So far all the tips are helping out. Thanks guys!
  • onionhead_o
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    onionhead_o polycounter lvl 16
    u dont have to model everything as one piece.u can seperate the clip and the body of the gun itself.
  • snoops3d
    Options