Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Alien Female Character and Scene

polycounter lvl 14
Offline / Send Message
Pogo_Daddy polycounter lvl 14
Hellooo. My name's Kate, and I'm new to polycount. I made this account a little while ago but this is my first "real" post. I'm currently in college for game development, so all of my posts untill April will probably be school assignments unless I start some of my own stuff over the holiday :]

For modelling we have to create a character that matches a scene from our level design class. My character and level are inspired by mass effect.

This is the drawing I submitted which I've been modelling from. I don't have too much of a back story for her. She has bark like hair and thin nostrils that close up in environments she's not used to (that's why she has tubey things). I know her lower back/butt/upper theigh is messed up in the side view, but I think I fixed that up in bit in the actual model.

We're using the male rig from UDK, so my character needs a chunky shoulder.

Characterfront2.jpg

We also had to design a weapon for our character, though I don't believe we'll be modelling it. I've never felt comfortable drawing/designing something when I don't fully understand how it functions

gun3.jpg

I'll post my models and scene a bit later since I don't have those files on me right now.

Replies

• Gungriffon Geona
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Gungriffon Geona polycounter lvl 18
    before you do that, maybe you should try and do more to make it look less like you just stuck a bunch of stuff to the poor thing's head to call it an alien. right now it's... well, it's just a person with a deformed head.
  • chrisradsby
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    chrisradsby polycounter lvl 14
    before you do that, maybe you should try and do more to make it look less like you just stuck a bunch of stuff to the poor thing's head to call it an alien. right now it's... well, it's just a person with a deformed head.