Home Unreal Engine

Kismet's limitations?

i thought i might ask this question to the UDK gods in here..

Is there a limit to what kismet can do?
If someone who is a total noob at programming and knows not a single word of unrealscript were to go into kismet, can he/she create a new game from just using kismet?

From what i understand, one has to at least be able to know how to create a new game type by tweaking the gameinfo.Granted, there are enough tutorials out there that teaches you how to do that, but what goes after that?

Is it possible to lets say for example, create a rpg game with things like talent trees,crafting systems and stuff like that with just kismet?

or maybe a RTS game? or a side scroller with boss fights ? Is kismet capable of letting a non programmer create all those behaviours of various characters and create fight sequences , etc?

I ask this question because im still starting out learning UDK, and i would like to be able to create a game,but having no access to a programmer kinda makes it hard. So hence my kismet question.

Anyone kind enough to weigh in on this?

thanks so much :)

Replies

• Lamont
    Offline / Send Message
    Lamont polycounter lvl 15
    ihour wrote: »

Is there a limit to what kismet can do?
    Yes.
    ihour wrote: »
    If someone who is a total noob at programming and knows not a single word of unrealscript were to go into kismet, can he/she create a new game from just using kismet?
    You would be modifying the current game you're playing. Nothing more. You can make a side scroller with kismet, but so much will not be able to be done without UnrealScript.

Spend the time learning UnrealScript. No need for a programmer. Start small and work your way up. You won't get very far with Kismet, as powerful as it is.

Kismet - Level-wide
    UnrealScript - Game-wide
  • cholden
    Offline / Send Message
    cholden polycounter lvl 18
    I'm a big nerd for kismet. I was going to make a kismet appreciation thread even.