Home General Discussion

Digipen - Thoughts, opinions?

So in 2007 when i graduated highschool i briefly considered trying digipen, but it didnt have the right program for me, and i figured it was just another shitty vocational school like ashmead college, ITT tech, etc.

So instead i've been trying to tackle a business management degree for almost 4 years. The plan was that between having a management background, and a sub par portfolio, or collection of game design documents, i could get hired as a game designer, level designer, or something similar. And if all else failed i would have a very generalist degree that could get me a job anywhere (what my parents were banking on)

Well, 25 credit hours of accounting, and some other shitty horrible classes later, i'm miserable and hate what i'm doing. Accounting and business math (page long word problems) are making me contemplate suicide (joke). These are not classes suited for someone who essentially half writer, half artist, and very creative.

Upon looking into digipen again however, they seem to have adopted the exact Bachelors degree i'm interested in.
DigiPen's Bachelor of Arts in Game Design (BAGD) is an interdisciplinary degree program that prepares students to become designers and artists for the electronic and digital entertainment industries. Graduates are well versed in game design theory, level design, artificial intelligence design, and general art skills.

this "degree" sums up almost exactly what i want to do, and i believe is perfect for me. But i have some questions:

1. digipen claims to be "DigiPen is accredited by the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges (ACCSC)" is this like a university being accredited or is it completely different?

1.1 the state and government provide financial aid for digipen, does that mean they are accredited?

2. will this degree help me get the job i want to do?

3. if it won't what will?

4. why is it so expensive (15k/year as of 2007)?