Home Contests & Challenges Archives

BEAT-EM-UP! | Visceral

Challenge
I have allways wanted to enter a competition here at polycount, geass this will be the first stuff i enter here really.
I want to improve my modelling skills, and focus on the texturing, since thats the thing that i have problems with.

What i will be creating with be a sidescrolling arabian village. Like a market place and such. Much inspired by Alladin but i might be going for a present day setup.

But i still want to work with handdrawn textures so the artstyle would be somewhat cartoonish.

I will continue to update this page as im coming along. As this is my first stuff i submit to Polycount i would prefer it if you go easy on the crits, im not a hardcore professional yet ;) just started school and im here to learn.

Tools
For this i will be using 3ds Max and UDK since ihave worked on alot of UDk mods and projects. I will however try to include Zbrush in my workflow as much as possible. And might include some Maya since i need to learn that moore for school.

Replies

• ParoXum
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ParoXum polycounter lvl 9
    Nice subject, good luck with it!
  • Kaneth
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    good luck matey

Ill be using UDK Max Zbrush and Photoshop also
  • Visceral
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Nice, thanks for the support. I have now gather all my reference data. Good thing i have a friend from the middle east that helped me get this material and get me some inspirational photos. Tomorrow ill begin with the planning phase.

What i want in there, how the story will tie the scenes together. What will go where, and such. I will keep you guys updated ;).
  • Visceral
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ok finally done with all the essential stuff. Now i want to get into some modelling so i can start showing off in this thread.