Home› 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

WIP: Classic Doom shotgun, based on Mossberg (large images)

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
Simmo polycounter lvl 12
Hey there, some of you might have seen my WIPs posted in the WAYWO thread. Thought I'd post here, as I'm close to starting the lowpoly, but first I'd like to get any crits or feedback.

I'm not planning to animate it, so as you see it here will be how it's modeled and baked as a lowpoly.

Also, I want to make it something that would be uniquely Doom.. I plan to make it fairly worn, perhaps do some engraving on the side.. I'm not sure yet. Any suggestions will be very welcome.

render4.png
render5.png
render6t.png

My main issue is the ironsights. I can't find any decent refs on especially the rear sight. I'm not a gun expert so I don't know how my improvisation holds up.. anyone who can help out? :) Also, if there are any parts that would be visibly welded, please let me know, as I want to add any welds etc.

I type too much. Thanks for looking, I hope you enjoy :)

Replies

• Illusive
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Illusive polycounter lvl 8
    that is one dope ass shotgun, can't comment on the sight as i'm no gun expert sorry but it looks heaps good and i can def imagine having some fun with it
  • vofff
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    vofff polycounter lvl 10
    How many tris?
  • felipefrango
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    felipefrango polycounter lvl 9
    Man, I love your renders. Care to share a bit about your lighting setup and materials?
  • Wiktor
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Wiktor polycounter lvl 11
    I think it looks like a solid high res model.
    Inspires me to start modeling my own. ^^

You could add some tape or wrappings around the butt or what it's called. The thing you put against your shoulder. Oh how my un-nerdiness shines through! >.<

Keep up the great work!
  • chrisradsby
    Options
    Offline / Send Message