Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Roger from Hellboy - WIP

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Fingus polycounter lvl 11
Hey there Polycount. Been a member for a while but this is my first time posting. About time I start using the social sides of the internet for more than just Reddit and Facebook...

So, as for my project. It's the last weeks of summer break and I got a part time job as well, so that means I don't really have that much time to do a project from the bottom up. That why I plan on using a maquette I did in zBrush for my Organic Modeling class last semester. Originally I planned on just tightening it up a bit and add a dash of finish to it, but then I figured it would be more interesting to turn him into a sculpture of Roger, the homunculus from Hellboy. My maquette already got really beefy and stocky proportions that would fit Roger, and I was planning on taking him in a rather stylized hard surface direction like this:

showoff_fibulburg.jpg

Which I think would work well with the fact that he is essentially a golem built out of clay.

As for the maquette, this is what the basemesh looked like before I brought it into zBrush:

Screen%20shot%202010-08-19%20at%2011.01.05%20PM.jpgScreen%20shot%202010-08-19%20at%2011.00.51%20PM.jpg

Pretty rubbish looking huh? I didn't really care about it looking right as long as the general proportions were right and that the topology was good. All the fleshing out and detailing would be done in zBrush anyway so any tweaking done at that point would be a waste.

Here is what he looks like currently, front and back:

roger_1.jpgroger_2.jpg