Home General Discussion

Staying Positive?

Hey guys, im a recent grad from Illinois Institute of Art. Im 25 now,Its been about a year and a still cannot find a game art job. Im having a difficault time staying positive about the situation and wondering if it will ever happen. I pay 50xxx for an education that i now realize is useless and i never should have went to school. Any of you that were in similar situations how did you manage mentally? I try to keep doing more work to keep getting better and better but its quite depressing even tho i love doing it so much. I at least have a 9-5 job doing wedding albums :-/

Any help would rock as depression sucks lol

Replies

• Tom Ellis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Firstly, I know how you feel, I'm also 25 and working towards a job in the industry as an artist of some sort.

A lot of people will tell you to 'man up', and in all honesty while it's harsh advice... it's also probably the best advice. Negativity and feeling depressed will only yield poor results in your creativity.

Now I'm not in the industry yet, so you'll get more proffessional advice from those who are, but I'll offer some suggestions.

- Keep things fresh. Take a break from art to get inspired, go see the outside world, parks, galleries, take a city stroll etc. Play some video games, immerse yourself and take mental notes of what attracts you in all of the above, both in game and in the real world.

- Do a little bit of something creative every day, even if it's just a sketch or two, a character, prop, environment whatever, put some music on and just let it flow.