Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[UDK] My first 3d scene - WIP

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
mkandersson polycounter lvl 7
Hello everyone at Polycount!

I have been longing to make something serious for a while now but not knowing what to make. I’m quite new to 3D modelling and have only been
at it for about 7 month now. I must say have learned a lot from reading all your posts and this forum has really been a great source for learning modelling.

So the other day when I was scouting for some good references I came across a place called Larnaca Castle, which I though had some really nice features,
so I decided to base my environment on it. I’m not going to make an exact copy of the place and will throw in some of my own ideas when creating this environment.

My goal is to
- create a game environment out of modular pieces
- improve on modelling and texturing
- get better at lighting and lightmass
- hopefully get some of your awesome feedback
- have a finished portfolio piece within a month or two
- get one step closer to become a environment artist

Here are some of my references as well as a blockout I made inside UDK.

72172894.jpg

01references.jpg

Comments, suggestions and critique are welcome! No sugar coding is needed. I can take it.

Replies

• brandoom
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    brandoom polycounter lvl 13
    Looks like your on the right track,

not much to crit yet.

Keep working! :)
  • Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Nice, yea keep going!
  • Mistry10
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Mistry10 polycounter lvl 8
    good start !
    hope to see more soon !
  • duxun
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
  • mkandersson
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    So finally an update! Just when I found something to do a bunch of other stuff poped up as well, so I haven’t had the time to work on this unfortunately.