Home General Discussion

Environment concepts, painting over 3D block ins?

greentooth
Offline / Send Message
Vertrucio greentooth
I'm not sure what the industry and community thinks of this process. It's probably fine, especially for speed, but I wanted to know what professionals, or recruiters think about it to make sure I don't sabotage my education.

I've been learning perspective and some architectural drawing to learn to freehand environments quickly (a useful skill since I want to be a concept artist someday). But I'm also trying to do my own 3D environments, and freehanding isn't cutting it for the details, especially for urban/blocky environments since I'm still learning.

Is it okay to do some concepts as paint overs first?

Replies

• bbob
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I dont see what the problem should be, but I would imagine that an employer could care less if you draw from pure imagination, or if you use a 3D blockout as a base.

Its not like its cheating anyone, its just getting the job done quicker.
  • Zipfinator
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Zipfinator polycounter lvl 9
    From what I understand this is a fairly common practice. I know Valve does it and many of the Gnomon concept art tutorials use 3D bases.
  • Autocon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Autocon polycounter lvl 15
    Very common practice by concept artists. Use a quick 3D mock up is a great way to get all your perspective lines matching up correctly. The trick is to not limit yourself to the 3D block out. Be sure to add new things or totally scrap the block out if its not working for the concept. Use it as a base.
  • adam
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    adam polycounter lvl 19
    Haha, awesome. Check the News page in about 8 hours :)
  • Canadian Ink
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Canadian Ink polycounter lvl 12
    I don't know any 2D/Concept artists that know 3D and don't use this technique...if that makes sense.