Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Roman/Gladiator game-models

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Highelf polycounter lvl 11
Hey guys, still pretty new to this forum but I figured I might as well post my "main" project I'm doing at the moment.

I'm by no means an insane professional, so I figured posting here would get me some great tips&crits as I keep training myself, so please, by all means, crit as much as you like! Everything is appreciated. :)

I'm doing game art for a mod I wanna make (however I can't guarantee if it will ever be a playable mod - its mainly just training by making a set of models in a coherent subject/world) The mod is supposed to take place entirely in the colosseum, so only (realistic, no fancy fantasy) gladiator and roman stuff.

Anyway, enough words, time for pictures

WIP2.jpg?t=1278974473
wip6.jpg?t=1278974467

wip7.jpg?t=1278974471
360_2.gif?t=1278974459
360-1.gif?t=1278974460

Replies

• Will Faucher
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Will Faucher polycounter lvl 12
    Looks like you are off to a good start. However I have a few things to say regarding the coliseum. Is it based off the real Coliseum in Rome? If so, then the problem is that yours is too perfectly oval. Look at the reference here:http://newmexicoindependent.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/04/roman-coliseum-photo.jpg

Notice that the side is sort of sliced at an angle. It's not like that because it broke off with time. It was designed like that.

However, if this is your own design then that is fine, but perhaps putting in some more real coliseum elements to it? To give it a more romanesque feeling to it.

Keep it up!
  • Zwebbie
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Zwebbie polycounter lvl 18