Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

guns, lots of guns

greentooth
Offline / Send Message
marks greentooth
fps weapons, looking for some feedback/crit. I feel like I'm still learning the ins and outs of baking normalmaps, but I've made good progress since starting on this stuff. Be brutal please :)

mp5kpc.jpg
contagionmp5kwire.jpg
1911pc.jpg
contagion1911wire.jpg
kg9pc.jpg
contagionkg9wire.jpg

this ones an oldie, diffuse lighting :o I feel its a strong piece though, so would like to know where it could be improved aswell:
m42652807.jpg

Replies

• marks
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    marks greentooth
  • Harry
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Harry polycounter lvl 13
    accuracy crits or material crits or poly structure crits or what
  • marks
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    marks greentooth
    Everything bar accuracy is good, 100% realism wasnt the goal. Material crits would be best, as that seems to be what I struggle with most.
  • Harry
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Harry polycounter lvl 13
    well, how about the 1911 because its the most blatant of the bunch. ATM there's basically no material definition at all and it's covered in what looks like a stony texture. This is usually cause you plainly overlayed a large texture on the whole diffuse, which as you've pointed out doesn't bring a great result.

I think maybe you're trying to rely on diffuse a lot while only really half trying to make a specular map. With current gen assets, espescially shiny metal stuff, the spec should have almost as much attention as the diffuse.... I'm actually really not sure what to say, like, there's no "mistakes" to point out on the specmap because all it really is at the moment is basetexture with some scribbles on it. You just have to like, actually make a spec map.