Home Technical Talk

Maxscript Idea: Sort Alpha Order

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
felipefrango polycounter lvl 9
I keep reading how often people have problems when displaying alpha transparency on Max's viewport. As far as I know it is dependant on the order you create the objects, right? If that's the case couldn't there be a script that would recreate your scene objects on a specific order?

Now, I'm not sure in what order you'd need to create the objects, but as far as I remember you need to create those that are far first, then the ones closest to the camera. I'm not a maxscript expert but if you could measure an objects distance to, say, a camera, then - from the farthest to the closest - clone the objects and delete the originals or something to that effect, that could get rid of the issue, right?

Anyway, not even sure it's possible, just throwing it out there.

Replies

• monster
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    monster polycounter
    I used to have this script. I'll try to dig it up.
  • felipefrango
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    @perna: Hmm, interesting. But you had to select every object and run the script on each one separately, manually selecting the order, right? It'd be great if it could be done in a one-click automated way, but for that you have to be able to measure the distance of the objects to a certain reference and, since I'm not a programmer, I don't know how it's done (or if it's even possible).
  • felipefrango
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Oh cool! I know a few things here and there but my knowledge is very limited and basic, buit I think I could pull it off. Thanks for the help! :D
  • monster
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    monster polycounter