Home Technical Talk

Bake Diffuse from HP to LP in Max

PredatorGSR
polycounter lvl 14
Offline / Send Message
PredatorGSR polycounter lvl 14
I have a high poly mesh that I have assigned a bunch of different colored shaders (different diffuse colors) so that I can bake it to the low poly that has UV's and use it as a selection mask in Photoshop. I know how to do this in Maya with the Transfer Maps tool, but I'm not sure how to do it in Max.

Could someone explain how to achieve this in Max 2009?

Thanks.

Replies

• Rang3r1
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bake a complete map.

Most people don't realize this trick to quickly render diffuse to start on their bases.
  • EarthQuake
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    bake a diffuse/color map to get just color, complete will bake all lighting etc if thats what you want
  • PredatorGSR
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    But how exactly do I do that. I'm new to Max so I don't know where to start...
  • EarthQuake
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Check google or Max's help files for render to texture. =) Theres massive amounts of info on this if you look.
  • Rang3r1
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Pm me if you need help. And yes, EQ is right, just a diffuse map, I must have had a brain fart, if you want a lighted AO, then bake a complete map.
  • Ghostscape
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ghostscape polycounter lvl 13
    Yeah, look up Render to texture in Max, its the Max equivalent of Transfer Maps.