Home Contests & Challenges Archives

Gladiator Challenge - vcool

VALVe, obviously.

valveman.jpg

I suck at drawing. :poly142:

Not sure I'll finish, in fact I don't even know where to start now since I have never really tried making characters.

Ideas and tips are more than welcome!

Replies

• vcool
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Got a basemesh done.

basemesh.jpg

Not too shabby I think, considering it's my first character.

I will sculpt the head in zbrush, it was too tedious to make a blob on top of the neck with proper edge flow.

I will also remove a few of those extra horizontal edge loops, in Max it looked like it was more even that way but in Zbrush it's noticeably more dense than, say, the arms.

I'd love crits since I'm a newb to characters. In the long run it may not matter since at high subdivision levels small errors may vanish, but for future reference it would be lovely.

ACtually now that I look at it, the legs are noticable fubar. Slightly short and kinda thick, especially the calves. I guess I can fix that in Zbrush.

Also, I should post my insipration for the final character: SUMO WRESTLERS

combat-de-sumo-a-tokyo_diaporama.jpg
  • Steve Schulze
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Steve Schulze polycounter lvl 18
    The legs are extremely close together which is likely to be a pain when you come to sculpt it. It'd probably be worth moving them apart a smidgen before you hit ZBrush.
  • vcool
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jackablade wrote: »
    The legs are extremely close together which is likely to be a pain when you come to sculpt it. It'd probably be worth moving them apart a smidgen before you hit ZBrush.

Thanks for the tip!

I did some minor changes, made the logs slightly longer and more apart, made the calves smaller, fixed flatness of the shoulder, and made the hands more curved.

basemesh2.jpg

I'll be making him big soon.
  • vcool
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Some sculpt progression