Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

First W.I.P. - Warcraft-Based ORC.

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
zakhar2 polycounter lvl 6
Hello everybody, my name is Zak, and I am a 16 year old modeler. I've been doing 3d schtuff for about 1.5 years, and I recently decided to make a World of Warcraft fan-art. I realize orcs aren't really original, but I find them rather kewl. So far, i spent about... 2-3 days on this?

I tried to keep the head of the model as close as i could to the actual game, but i sorta made up the torso as i went along... >.< Any and all critiques + comments welcome, especially about anatomy and topology. I will try to follow the to the best of my abilities.

Created using Maya 2009.
orcwipone.jpg

Replies

• Rojo
    It's shaping up nicely.

Your topology flows well but is unnecessarily heavy in areas, for instance the deltoid isn't defining much. These polys could instead be used to better define the ear or finger.
  • Shogun3d
    Offline / Send Message
    Shogun3d polycounter lvl 12
    Poly and loop distribution is a bit of a mess. Keep tightening them up! Proportions are coming along nicely, looking forward to your work!
  • zakhar2
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks guys! :) I think my main problem is that I have no idea of how to terminate edgeloops. Like Tim said, my deltoid isnt very well defined. But i dont know how i would define it without throwing a lot of loops at it :poly122:. Most of the time, it ends up looking something like this:
    orcwiptwo.jpg

Im pretty sure I'm doing it wrong. If any of you guys could help, that would be awesome.

(P.S. Are my image sizes alright? I could make them smaller if people want...)
  • Shogun3d
    Offline / Send Message
    Shogun3d polycounter lvl 12
    select your edge and loop it, then hit Ctrl + Backspace?
  • zakhar2
    Offline / Send Message
    kaburan wrote: »
    select your edge and loop it, then hit Ctrl + Backspace?