Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

BattleTech Light Lance

This is my first time posting on a 3D art site, so please forgive any inane drivel.

The project is for my Hard Surface Modeling class, and I've chosen to make a Capellan Confederation Light Lance of Battlemechs consisting of a Sha-Yu, a Raven, and 2 Locusts. The models are intended to be built as game assets, so I'm going to shoot for under 10k tris for each model, save for one of the 'Mechs, which will be built as a high-poly model for normal-mapping purposes and to show that I am capable of doing a high-poly object. My intention beginning this project was to model the assets as close to the original drawings found in the Technical Readout manuals as possible, as opposed to the "Living Legends" Crysis Mod that I personally don't approve of the direction they've taken the visuals, but I may just be a purist in that sense.

So far I have low-poly meshes for the most part completed for the Locust and the Sha-Yu chassis, which I will post wireframe shots below the reference imagery.

Sha-Yu
Sha_Yu.gif

Locust
locust1_3025.jpg

Orthographic Drawings were done by me from as many images I could find of the relevant 'Mechs. In the interest of post brevity, I've provided links instead of the actual images, as I tend to scan everything at 300 dpi.

Sha-Yu Ortho Drawings
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v236/nam_redips/HardSurfaceOrtho_1.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v236/nam_redips/HardSurfaceOrtho_2.jpg

Locust Ortho Drawings
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v236/nam_redips/ortho_page1.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v236/nam_redips/ortho_page2.jpg

Sha-Yu Wireframe Shots
Sha_Yu_wiresFront.png
Sha_Yu_wiresSide.png
Sha_Yu_wiresBack.png

Locust Wireframe Shots
Locust_wiresFront.png
Locust_wiresSide.png
Locust_wiresBack.png
Locust_legs.png
Those poly's went straight to his thighs...

I will post more as I finish, comments and critiques greatly appreciated.

Replies

• Valandar
    Offline / Send Message