Home Technical Talk

Maya 2009: renderable spline?

polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
killingpeople polycounter lvl 18
Is there a way to render a spline like in max, in Maya 2009?

-kp

Replies

• pior
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pior grand marshal polycounter
    lol

(by the way, this not an "aimed at you" lol. This is a aimed at prehistoric programs LAWLZ)

You'll have to use good old extrude along path. There has been attempts at reproducing the 'renderable splines' functionality but none I saw working properly.

I even had a Maya tech guy telling me upfront "HAHAHA YOU DON'T NEED THAT ANYWAYS". Go figure ...
  • killingpeople
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I'd punch him in right in the god damn throat! ;)

Just curious. I can live without.

If I was to give such an excuse, as an artist, I wonder what kind of look I'd get ;p
    "You don't need this art." "That's too hard and will take too much time, so..." ;)
  • throttlekitty
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Y'know, I was playing with Blender a while back, and found out you can use the scale tool on a spline. Kind of blew my mind to see polygons pop out just like that.
  • MoP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MoP polycounter lvl 18
    Yeah the lack of this feature kills me in Maya. I used "renderable spline" all the time in Max, it's so handy.

Maybe I'll try a quick and easy script this weekend, it shouldn't be too hard, and if I aim for the Max functionality then people should like it :)
  • Lamont
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Lamont polycounter lvl 15
    You can render curves in Maya. Use paint effects and Maya software render. A lot of features once you do it. When I get up in the morn, if you didn't find the solution on how to use Paint Effects and the curves I'll do a quick tut.
  • MoP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MoP polycounter lvl 18