Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

3D to the Maximus!!

Hey guys and gals my name is Clint and i've been a long time viewer (and member) of Polycount and just never brought myself to post. I am a recient graduate from the Art Institute of Phoenix and i am currently working as an Intern at a company called VirTra making 3D characters for military and police combat simulators.

So, that's me in a nut shell! Anyway! Here's my latest terrorist. Rip me apart, i need to get better! Thanks!

Tri Count: 9,471
Texture Size: 2048 x 2048

Terrorist_03_Front_.jpg
Terrorist_03_Back.jpg
Terrorist_03_Front_Wires.jpg
Terrorist_03_Back_Wires.jpg
Male03_New_D.jpg
Male03_New_N.jpg
Male03_New_S.jpg

Replies

• DarthNater
    Offline / Send Message
    DarthNater polycounter lvl 10
    I'm no character artist but that tri count seems pretty high for the amount of detail you have on that model.

Textures look great though, is most of this all hand painted?
  • Clintus Maximus
    Thanks! Most of it is photo ref and touched up by hand.

As for the poly count that's just shy of 5,000 polys. Alot of that is in the vest and gloves. The knife on the side of his leg is a little too high poly for its purpose and it's mirrored, so i can see where there is some waste there.
  • mLink
    Offline / Send Message
    mLink polycounter lvl 10
    You could definitely use a bit of optimization on the whole model, especially the boots.

Tri Count: 9,471?
    For actually using in a game, that's pretty high for the amount of detail that you have on the model.
    The texture would benefit from a lot more detail being painted into it (fold highlights/shadows, dirt/grime/oil, etc.) You said there's a 2k, but it doesn't look like more than a 512 or 1k.