Home General Discussion

animation club at school

So the animation club at meh school kinda took a nosedive recently because our president hasn't shown up the past couple meetings... So I was thinking of trying to step up to the plate. Do you guys have suggestions of group activities? most of the members want to make a short nicely rendered animation, but the freshman barely touch 3ds max their first year, so most of the work would be put on us upper classmen. I was thinking of running through some zbrush tutorials or doing some modeling demos in max. any input/suggestion are appreciated :)

Replies

• Keith
    Do it man, just make it a modeling club instead, the freshmen students would probably benefit more from your modeling and zbrush tuts anyway. Wish i had something like that when i was a freshman in art college. :D
  • mdeforge
    Offline / Send Message
    mdeforge polycounter lvl 14
    I was president and founder of my college's animation club and I basically just pooled everyone's minds every meeting and asked them to share any resources, techniques or cool sites they have come across lately.

Listen, every twitchy fingered teen want's to be a video game developer or some other hot shit like that. It takes dedication, hardwork, and the ability to log off WOW or stop talking about Anime for a few hours. Don't waste your time spoon feeding people. Show them the door and let them walk through it and answer any questions they have along the way.
  • Mark Dygert
    I think Keith has a good suggestion I think gearing it toward modeling instead of animation would be a good move. I think starting off with the basics of 3dsmax would be good. If its going to be about animation stick to the basics, bouncing balls, learning the 12 principles of animation (or at least the important ones).