Home General Discussion

Masters and Post Graduate Courses in the UK

polycounter lvl 14
Offline / Send Message
iansmithartist polycounter lvl 14
Im just looking for some feedback about post-graduate computer game courses in the UK. Or in face any options open to computer game graduates in the UK.

Just to explain my situation: I am a recent graduate with a small portfolio. There are little to no game companies in my area. There is also the consensus that with so many game developers closing their doors recently there are a high number of unemployed game artists with more experience and larger portfolios than today's graduates.

So, as I see it, there are two options,

a) Get a 9-5 job, make the jump to a better location, work and work and work at my portfolio.

b) Apply for a post-graduate course.

Advantage/Disadvantage for a)
- The main problem I see is that I would be spending more time working than I would be building my portfolio, making very little progression. Realisticly this would take a long time, perhaps time that could be spent on a post-graduate course. However I should come out of it debt free.

Advantage/Disadvantage for b)
- A post-graduate course would allow me to build my portfolio, learn new skills, and better prepare myself for employment. However, they are expensive, I have little money and I am already in debt with tuition fees (which I pay once I start earning over a certain amount.) I would have to save for find funding/loan before embarking on any course.

I'm sure there are many graduates in my position, across many disciplines and professions.

And so to the questions, of which there are many.

What post-graduate courses are recommended?
I am more a 3D artists man myself but for those that are animators, coders, etc. i'm sure others would love to know your experience of post graduate courses.

Are they worth it?
I am hoping they will give me the skills to build my portfolio rather than just a certificate to hang on my wall.