Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Hallway Section

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
Axios polycounter lvl 10
Hey, this is my first time posting work here. This is a little project that I started last week, and was inspired by Alien: Resurrection. It's just a modular section of a hallway, and I wanted to use this project to work on a couple skills, mainly texture painting without photo-sourcing.

comp1.jpg?t=1250035624

From left to right, high-poly, low-poly (wire), and flat diffuse. It's currently at 828 tris. I'll be working on the spec and emissive maps next before setting it up in Unreal. Comments and critique appreciated, thanks.

Replies

• Ben Apuna
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hi there Axios, this is looking pretty good. It's really got that Alien feel to it.

I think you should bevel the edges I've highlighted here, then rebake the normal map.

aliens_wall_bevels.jpg

Then those edges will show up better in Unreal, especially once you've added your normal and spec maps.

I'm looking forward to seeing more :)
  • Axios
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Axios polycounter lvl 10
    Do you think the low-poly should be beveled as well or just the high? There's a small bevel on there now, but I'd agree with increasing it. Was planning on rebaking some anyways.
  • Ben Apuna
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Yup, you will need to bevel the low poly as well. You will also need to soften those edges on the low poly to avoid normal map errors. Here's an example of what you can expect in UE3 with normal maps + beveled soft edges vs hard 90 degree angle edges.

ModobakesinUE3bevelsvsedgesplit.jpg
  • Oniram
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Oniram polycounter lvl 16
    the texturing is superb! would you mind posting up the diffuse color so we can see your UV layout.
  • Joshflighter
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joshflighter polycounter lvl 9
    The pics didnt show up before. But now they are.