Home General Discussion

degree vs. portfolio, "falling back on a degree"

I know this has been discussed many times but... im gonna rant a bit.
So I was having a chat with my parents about my plans for the future; I'm starting my 2nd year at a community college in a couple weeks to get an associates in animation, then (probably) doing another two years at F.I.T. I'm not 100% sure I want to do that though... But anyways what i'm getting at is, my parents really want me to finish the 4 years of schooling so even if I can't find a job right away, I'd have a degree to "fall back on" this seems like a decent idea but that doesn't really seem possible in this industry...
So for you guys in the industry, did you go to school or are self taught? and for the self taught dudes, did the companies ask much about a degree?
Hope that makes sense and thanks for readin' :)

Replies

• bounchfx
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    bounchfx mod
    I went to school. everything I heard though is that a degree is useless without the skills to back it up... even then, most companies just want to see a solid portfolio and could care less about your schooling.

but there ARE companies that value and even require a degree. so like.. yeah.
  • Ruz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ruz polycount lvl 666
    well then good thing about going to a college or some kind of higher education is that you meet like minded people, have some fun and develop some social skills

I was a student for seven years and had a blast
  • SHEPEIRO
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    SHEPEIRO polycounter lvl 17
    degree degree degree, ive worked with quite a few striaght outta comptons (srry pissed) and the knowledge/teamwork/independant thought processes i learnt doing a Fine art degree have given me more than the 3 years extra i might have learnt in the industry.