Home Technical Talk

Tire tread normal mapping?

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
boyluya polycounter lvl 10
Hi guys, just want to ask how to normal map a tire tread without seams. I tried using the cylindrical mapping but the seams are still noticeable, or maybe I didn't do it right. Is it possible? Thanks for the help! (sorry total newbie here)

Replies

• warby
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    warby polycounter lvl 18
    show us a picture and we will be able to tell you

... show us a pic of your highpoly
    ... show us a pic of your lowpoly
    ... and show us a pic of your seam
  • Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    It really depends on how you built it?

I suggest modeling a flat piece of high poly tire tread that tiles, copy it a few times in a flat straight row. Do the same for a low poly tile. You can then unwrap it while its still flat or unwrap just one of the tiles before you copy and save yourself some UV space its up to you.

Then you can do one of two things:

1)
    Then apply a bend modifier and set the bend gizmo to one end and wrap it around until the edges meet up. The seams should match if they don't you can nudge and noodle the bend gizmo around until they're perfect.
    The size of the tire is determined by its length so you can go back down the stack add/remove tiles and scale the flat piece to get the right size.

Or

2)
    You can do roughly the same thing with a circle spline for a path and the PathDeform(WSM) modifier.
    - Create a path, either drag out a circle or select a loop and hit create shape.
    - Take your flat tire tread, instance it, apply PathDeform(WSM), click move to path and adjust the % along path. If it doesn't quite fit go back to the flat instance and nudge and noodle it around until the seams meet.

Once you have the right size and shape it MIGHT be a good idea to bake the flat version.
  • boyluya
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    warby wrote: »