Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Streets of Rage Remake/Machinima

polycounter lvl 14
Offline / Send Message
ceebee polycounter lvl 14
I figure it's finally time I actually start posting some of my stuff. I'm still pretty new to seriously doing 3D/Sculpture but I'm trying to self teach myself as much as I can before I head off to Vancouver Film School for 3D Animation and Visual Effects.

One of the ways to get myself to work is to set a project, and a few months ago I decided to start a remake of Streets of Rage, and maybe eventually get all the assets and an environment to game spec and create a 1-2 minute long machinima (in-game cutscene), as my dream is to hopefully eventually do either in-engine or prerendered cinematics for video games.

So far I've only started working on two out of the three characters I have planned. Please note my goal is to recreate this somewhat cartoony so the proportions on stuff may be a little wacky. Firstly, Axel, the main character (I decided to redesign him as kind of an islander type race, light eyes, and some dreadlocks. His original design was kind of bland in Streets of Rage). He'll be wearing a sort of aviator type jacket. Hands either in wraps or thin versions of MMA fighting gloves (similar to the old version of Axel). Exaggerated torso/arms/hands, loves punching the crap out of the baddies...

axel_concept_wip.jpg

Second, Ysignal, one of the "baddies" in SoR who is kind of a skinny punk type fella, always kind of slouched down, ready to punch something. Wears a trenchcoat and tight pants. Not afraid to throw in a kick or two to your groin with some external steel plated boots...

ysignal_concept_wip.jpg

And lastly I plan on concepting/etc an updated version of the hilarious Big Ben character...

sor2_bigben_laugh.gif

Jolly fat man, loves to jump up in the air and belly flop on the nearest hero. Suspenders are going to be a musthave once I start on this guy. Will be my first fat person sculpt.