Home Technical Talk

Xoliul's 3DS Max and Maya Viewport Shader

Replies

• boyluya
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    boyluya polycounter lvl 10
    Hey laurens my man, really awesome shader! Started playing with it last night but I couldn't get a "true glow" with my glow maps.

Here's what it looks like.

tower3.jpg

Plus I'm having an error when I try to load cubemaps (actually i'm a noob when it comes to this). Am I not doing something that needs to? Thanks.

cubemap_prob.jpg
  • Xoliul
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Xoliul polycounter lvl 14
    00Zero wrote: »
    just tried out the shader for the first time last night. its super great, thanks laurens. I can finally get stuff to look close to how our assets look at work. thanks for all the effort, the video tutorial helped a lot.

Thanks Serozh! I thought you used Maya? And yeah I noticed how things in MW2 frequently get this cool fresnel rim effect around it, sorta like my shader, I always notice that when I play :p

Boyluya: the "actual" glow thing has been pretty much the most asked about issue lately, but I haven't been able to do that yet. You can fake it by using bloom and tweaking that a bit.
    Regarding the DDS: sounds like a problem other people have had before. See if it works in 32bit Max. There was a topic about this on Polycount before.
  • slave_one
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    slave_one polycounter lvl 18
    Xoliul, awesome work once again! Great video on setting up the shader as well.

Boyluya: I had the same prob a while ago (when using the 1.3 version) For me the problem got fixed by disabling shaderFX .. (for some strange reason). BradMeyers had something similar and for him it was due to polyboost. (see his post here ... http://boards.polycount.net/showpost.php?p=978464&postcount=92) Don't know if there is a topic about this .. this is just what I know .. hope it helps!
  • Taz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Taz