Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

New Here

hey everyone, great forum and a lot of amazing artist. i'm still really new to 3d so i hope some of you guys can help me out.

working on this deformed snake ninja character right now and i'm not too sure how to do the mouth. when he talks it will move like a normal mouth but i also want it to be able to open really wide like a snakes.

i'll start on the body when i'm happy with the costume design.

pythonfaceaq7.pngpythheadwirewc4.png
pythonbodyfrontqh8.png
my.php?image=pythonfaceaq7.png

Replies

• Rumkugel
    Offline / Send Message
    Rumkugel polycounter lvl 14
    Nice start!

the hip and upper leg section could be a bit beefed up, its pretty slim for my taste.

keep it up :)
  • pestibug
    Offline / Send Message
    pestibug polycounter lvl 18
    hey splatpixel, welcome to polycount.

Very nice for someone new to 3D (altho' I think this is not your 1st attempt :) )

Anyway, great design, interesting guy, really cool. Very curious to see what else you will do with him.
    Now more techincal stuff, IF you want to sculpt him later on in mudbox or Zbrush, it is important to model in quads. So try to get rid of as many triangles as possible. If you don't want to do that, then in general the mesh is fine.

about your question, here's a paintover:

splatpixelfe9.jpg

In cases like these, once happy with the general shape (like the mouth in this instance) I select all the faces of the lowerjaw, and then detach them. The red dot on the paintover is the pivot along which the jaw rotates.

So, don't move the detached mesh just yet, but adujst its pivot untill its in the right spot. After that rotate like in the paintover and close the mesh again. Don't forget to fix up your edgeflow to a bit so it's all nice and smooth again.

Now when animating, it will look perfect.

After this, just model the inside of the mouth!