Home General Discussion

Little personal milestone, rather proud of myself.

I do music.

After 7 years of failed attempts at starting bands, studying music, composing electronic weirdness, fucking about with drum machines, learning guitar, bass, in depth study of recording and digital audio, mixing desks, microphones, psychology (I'm studying music production, half of which involves getting the best out of a bunch of moody, arrogant fuckwits), and generally mucking about with various different musical bits and bobs, watching a group of friends from school become one of the most exciting up-and-coming metal bands in the UK (Malefice).

I have written a song. A full on, down to earth, means a lot to me, song. That I sing. That I play. And that I can sing and accompany myself on guitar. This has been a major, MAJOR stumbling block for me since day one, the actual writing a song part. My brain just hasn't had the right wiring until now. And I'm so damn proud of it.

I'm gonna record it soon, and then you'll all hear it.

Just thought I'd share, because I'm happy :).

Replies

• MoP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MoP polycounter lvl 18
    heh, nice one, i can never get quite that far. i can write lyrics and i can record music, but putting the two together is beyond me. good work!
  • ebagg
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ebagg polycounter lvl 17
    Congrats man, that is awesome, jumping those hurdles really is a great feeling.
  • indian_boy
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    congrats man!

sommin similar happened to me recently

i'm rapping in front of the school dec 16th
    =D self-lyriced, anti-violence lyrics
    not tryna steal ur thunder or anything, but just saying that i know exactly where ur commin from

can't wait to hear the song!
    congrats again
    digi-hi-five
  • claydough
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    claydough polycounter lvl 10