Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

badass!!! Gladiator type warrior

SUP!! folks first time posting, this is a new character I'm working on for my portfolio site, which will be back up soon, its undergoing some work. this is just one of three characters I'm currently working on. I'm having problems in developing the armor design, and seeing that I’m not a concept artist at all, although I do draw frequently (mostly anatomical drawings), implementing a chain, pulley like mechanism on his back which will allow him to release more chain as he wields his weapon and is able to retract it at will, while staying with the theme i have going (Not Futuristic) is somewhat challenging, I'm all for the challenge though...

by the way the chain axe thingy, is just a placeholder for now I'm still working out how I'm going to attach it to the arm

Any ideas or suggestions are very much welcome

BigGuy03.jpg

BigGuy01.jpg

BigGuy02.jpg

Replies

• rjhalvorson
    Because he's 'lumpy' by design, you can get away with some awkward anatomy, but I think you should develop his hands a bit, he looks like he's wearing a latex glove on a stump. Give him fat butcher hands to keep in line with your theme.

Reminds me a bit of the Persian executioner from 300. You should watch that for inspiration. Gladiator is another good reference movie, Rome the HBO show, all gladiator type themes.
  • jam-i-am
    thanks man, I definitely agree about the hand, I just haven't touched it yet just mostly blocking out some basic forms and will definitely beef that bad boy up.
  • adamlewis
    Looks awesome. I love the anatomy and the general proportions/gesture of the character. For the chain weapon I think you might want to have it attach more solidly to him. Right now it looks like if he swung the weapon with enough force it would tear right off him. Maybe have the device hook up to his shoulder for some added support.
  • -DN-
    Offline / Send Message
    -DN- polycounter lvl 18
    looks good