Home General Discussion

Creativity friendly enviroment and more

polycounter lvl 16
Offline / Send Message
Sam Hatami polycounter lvl 16
As a layman I'm often frustrated with the lack of creativity and the strength to sit down and create something. I often get stuck in the "oh that's so cool I want to make something like that" - thought, but then after a long day at work and all other choirs there is not much left of me at the end of the day. How do you non-employed artist cope with this? Am I just whining?

I wonder, as a discusion, how the work enviroment affects you working artists? and has it always been easy finding focus and creativity? Looking at some of your work e.g Kevin Johnstone, I can never imagine him having a dry period where he just can't get things together.

I know there is mostly hard work behind what viewers would call "talent", but for this to happen you must have some cind of progress and be able to review your work. It's very easy to fall into a negative circle where the only mindset you have is "i won't be able to do something that cool"... to be able to handle "failure" when you hardly have the energy to create something...

Hah, I hope I make some sence. (sorry if it's in the wrong section).

I would just like to hear your thoughts.

Replies

• J Randall
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    J Randall polycounter lvl 15
    Get an ipod, press play sit down, load your app of choice and just make stuff! or sketch out some rough plans first, don't romanticize the process and sit and think for hours, just effing do it.
  • Justin Meisse
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Justin Meisse polycounter lvl 18
    the work environment = someone giving you a deadline to finish your work. If you're in a creative rut just pick some concepts off the internet, give yourself a deadline and make it.

http://www.warhammeronline.com/conceptart/index.php
  • Michael Knubben
    Options
    Offline / Send Message