Home Technical Talk

3ds max viewport issue

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
Microneezia polycounter lvl 10
Hello there, These are probably easy answers, but i'm a self taught noob. Woot!

ok so, 2 questions SVP;

1. Why, when i select an object in my viewport (full screen ortho) it zooms in a great deal and changes to Perspective view? I want the viewport to remain in ortho until i tell it to change myself... Is there a way to lock the view but still have it open to hot key changes?

2. When ever i change views, from Perspective to ortho or ortho front, side ect, the viewport always zooms in to the location: 0,0,0 in 3d space. Is there a way for my viewport to change view according to the currently selected object? IE: i have mountains and a lake. the lake is at 0,0,0 on the grid but im working miles away on some rock in the mountains, i want to change view so i go to side view and im taken and zoomed back to 0,0,0 at the lake and have to navigate all the way back to the rocks... in the view i changed to.

I dont believe pro's work like this, can you help?

Thanks a bunch!

Replies

• Mechadus
    sounds like there is something wrong with your copy of MAX... I have the occasional viewport glitch, but never anything like that. Might be worth trying to reinstall.

-N
  • Eric Chadwick
    1. Never seen this, weird.

2. There are scripts that save the settings for each view, or you could simply bind the Zoom Extents Selected to a hotkey and hit that after switching, or you could make your own script for each view that switches and zooms all in one keypress.

A couple possibilities...
    http://scriptspot.com/3ds-max/srv
    http://www.rodneyolmos.com/downloads/tools.htm#Viewport
  • MoP
    Offline / Send Message
    MoP polycounter lvl 18
    I've never had either of these things happen. What version of Max are you using?