Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Construction Site Environment

Hey all,

This is my first time posting. A friend talked me into it, and I look forward to some input.

This is my first crack at an environment in 3ds Max. I am pleased with how it is coming along, but it's definitely a WIP. I would appreciate any critiques/feedback on both the project, and the nature of my posting.

Thanks in advance,

Joe.

Erender1.jpg

Erender2.jpg

Erender3.jpg

Replies

• timwiese
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    timwiese polycounter lvl 9
    Looks pretty good, I would like to see some closer renders of the props and the building.

Keep at it.

I am sure some of the more senior members can be of more help then me ;)

Woodridge? You wouldn't happen to be a student at Westwood there? Just wondering because that's where I go.
  • jsteinke79
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Yeah, I do attend Westwood... Haha, small world.
  • Stubbs
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Stubbs polycounter lvl 17
    Looks like its coming along. I think the textures need to be dirtied up a bit more, it looks too clean. I know its a WIP and not to mention since its a building still under construction it's a structure that obviously hasn't been up that long, but still, a little more grime and detail in the textures wouldn't hurt. The concrete road blocks could definitely use it, right now its just a flat gray. Although you may have been planning on adding more to it already.

I really like the amount of detail you have put into the geometry of the building, for there is a lot to look at.

The texture of the road and also the dirt on the road looks a bit blurry/low res. The texture of the road looks like it should be somewhat lighter too.

As far as your posting goes, perhaps some screens of the wireframes, some texture flats, and also some more up-close shots of the building, showing a closer view of the dumpster and wooden palettes and what not.