Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

UT3 Character Wip

polycounter lvl 16
Offline / Send Message
BoilingOil polycounter lvl 16
Hello everybody. I'm new to these forums, and new to Modeling in general.

I've started a character that I would like to import into UT3. I'm going for a post apocalyptic man who's wearing some type of modified football pads with metal riveted/welded/strapped to it.
dwellersheet.jpg

I'm pretty new to 3d modeling, this is my second attempt at character creation.

If anyone has any constructive criticism for me i'd greatly appreciate it. Help me get better at this!

Thanks!
Edit/Delete Message

Replies

• Ro-Sham-Bo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I would say go back to the concept stage and draw some concept out. Get a character that is more original, find refrence pictures of football pad and metal pieces. work out all your simple details on paper even if you cant draw super well you will end up with a much better piece.

As for you mesh so far, i would deatch the head and make it its own object completly. add more subdivisions in the elbows. and your over all anatomy really needs work. You have a nice flow over all though that could work as a nice starting place. Keep at it. and have fun with it !
  • BoilingOil
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the feedback! I appreciate the crit! I did these before i started the model, quick and dirty. I wanted to get right to modeling.

armordude.jpg[IMG]http://www.boilingoil.com/images/bitbucket/Heavy Armor Vaultdweller.jpg[/IMG]

The whole model is broken into sections. Head, left and right shoulder pads, torso, arms, legs, and boots. I know the anatomical proportions are a bit off, could you be more specific as to what really needs work? I know he's a bit wider than a normal human, but from the andrew loomis stuff i've been studying it's not so far off.