Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: Agostinuke

Hey!
Today I started to work on the Splash Damage's environment art test. I would like to start a sketchbook here by posting the wips, hopefully to get some feedback. I hope to not infringe any copyright by doing this, if so, please tell me and I'll post something else. Also if you people of Splash could give me some pointers it would be wonderful.

I have some experience in mapping for the Unreal Engine 3, but I never created assets to place in the editor, I cooked my dishes using stock ingredients...the fact is that I seem to remember that the models can have n-sided polys but I'm not quite sure, and here comes the question..can I leave those rigid planes/walls with their n-sided polys or it is better to split and reduce them to quads and tris? I searched for an answer but still have to find one so meanwhile I'll leave them as they are. I use XSI 6.5. End of talk.

wip01.jpg
wip02.jpg
wip03.jpg
wip04.jpg
wip05.jpg

Replies

• Kawe
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kawe polycounter lvl 8
    Most engines will triangulate it for you when you import it. The reason you want to triangulate yourself is to make sure everything comes out right, especially for n-gons. However for a flat wall I doubt it matters too much. Maybe if you are going to use vertex lighting and the import really messed it up. but.. if you were going to use vertex lighting I'd suggest rearranging those polys a little since everything is going to end up in the corners of the wall giving you thin slices of polys that will mess up the lights.
  • Agostinuke
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks a lot Kawe. Yes good suggestion for the lighting.
    Probably tired and eager to post here I didn't do the first thing I should have tried...to import the stuffs into the ue3 editor...so I did it and I see that the holes in the wall are messed up..tomorrow I will sort that out. night :)
  • Agostinuke
    Options
    Offline / Send Message