Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Mean Dinosaur!

Hey All, Im new to Polycount and just wanted to throw up a comp sheet of a model im currently working on for class. It is an emaciated tricerotops with meaty raptor style legs. The assignment was to design and model a dinosaur for a new turok game. Crits welcome!
dino_comp.jpg

Replies

• dale22x
    Offline / Send Message
    dale22x polycounter lvl 10
    it seems really messy right now. could you post some bigger pictures. i can't really see it as well as id'like
  • VikingJim
    Hey Dale, thanks for looking! I have a couple of the images that were in the comp sheet scaled up so you can see them a bit easier. I think i may re-work the layout and finish textureing him, but any imput you have is welcome.
    dino_compflow.jpg
    dino_compuvlayout.jpg
    dino_comprender.jpg
    dino_comprear.jpg
    Thanks again, Jim
  • dejawolf
    Offline / Send Message
    dejawolf polycounter lvl 18
    i agree that it looks very messy. additionally, the skin looks like its made from some sort of polished rock. and the detailing is nondescript.
  • SHEPEIRO
    Offline / Send Message
    SHEPEIRO polycounter lvl 17
    that looks like a bump map not a normal, have you plugged in your normal map correctly?
  • VikingJim
    Shepeiro, Yeah it is a normal in the bump channel. It is just turned down very low. I didnt have enough geometry to fill out some of the areas from my zbrush sculp, since for the class there is a 4500 tri limit. I was thinking of turning the specularity down to make the skin look less waxy as well.
  • AsylumSeaker
    I don't understand the point of this dinosaur.. is it supposed to be a herbivore or carnivore or what? It looks like it would move awkwardly and starve to death.
  • dabu
    Offline / Send Message
    dabu polycounter lvl 18
    oh snap!