Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: Terrorcouple

Hello, all,

My name is Chelsea Edwards, and I am a student studying 3D modeling. I am creating this sketchbook to gain feedback on my work so that I may learn and improve. Please feel free to critique anything you note, as I welcome and encourage it.

I'm going to start this off with a character that I am working on currently -- an ethergaunt. The concept I am modeling from was created by Eva Widermann, who gave me permission to work on this piece. Here is the concept:

ethergauntbyboudiccamf3.jpg

I started by gathering references of beetles and other ethergaunt designs. I then created a base mesh for the character.

ethergauntbasemeshwebel7.jpg

Here is my progress on the ZBrush work. I would appreciate any critiques you all have to offer, as this is my 2nd full character. I would like to eventually use this as a portfolio piece.

ethergauntzbrushwebea8.jpg

Replies

• Minimoose
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    nice to see ya on polycount, welcome :) it's looking great so far. do you have your unwrap done yet?
  • Terrorcouple
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the welcome! :)

I'm still working on building the low poly Ethergaunt, but I will have him finished come this weekend. I'll keep posting my progress on him, as I will definitely be needing the feedback.
  • curry23
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hey!
    You already know that I think your model is bad ass; so now I'll try to give you a worthwhile crit (but I'm afraid that I'm still really new to modelling and may not have the best crits)

My crit is for your Zbrushing.
    I've heard you say in class before that you're a "perfectionist", and I think that might actually be hindering your zbrushing.