Home General Discussion

Any value to putting WiPs on sites?

Saidin311
polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Saidin311 polycounter lvl 11
I'm still learning and working on my portfolio. I have a long way to go before I'm confident enough to just start showing off my site and work. Time's been tight for me recently for that but no matter.

My question to the industry vets is; is it worth showing a WiP on your reel/site/portfolio?

I've had some feedback from some local companies in Toronto and the one thing I've heard from my stuff is "looks promising but we want to see more". And the other more related; "finish up those WiP's and get back to us".

While I'm not holding out much for the creedence (Lebowski reference anyone?) with regards to these companies. It's made me think that instead of working on churning out new pieces I'm going to go back and refine those old WiP's that I have OR just take the WiP's right out of the equation and not show them anywhere and just stick to complete work.

I've seen a lot of new guys posting website stuff and I've seen a lot of Work In Progress shots. It seems to me (not meaning to offend anyone) that if your WiP work isn't at least as impressive as your completed work then theres not much point in showing it on your website.

And moreso it can even do more hurt than help if the artist is new and doesn't have a world of experience. It seems that some artists just slap a "work in progress" tag on the screenshot to show that they are impatient with the artwork and want to get a job without taking the time to understand and work and further develop their style.