Home Contests & Challenges Archives

DWIII - 3D - Kary - Vates

polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
kary polycounter lvl 18
Latest:

intozbwithfauxmaterials.jpg

Seems like the time to start a thread, if I don't post something soon I'm apt to keep randomly doodling till April 7th.

I am just learning to draw (and find the transition to drawing with a tablet very hard for some reason), but I've been doodling over the last few days and didn't find any odd ideas worth pursuing:

conceptsps1.thumbnail.jpg

I thought about the generic girl with a 2 storey demonic dog:

conceptsps2gether.thumbnail.jpg

Then I realized if I am going to go generic, I might as well embrace it:

conceptsps9x2painter.jpg
conceptsps8.jpg

The drawings don't communicate well, but it will be a simple armoured figure. I haven't done an armoured male figure, so it's new to me at least. A lot of the influence I'm looking at is from Frazetta's Deathdealer. Very clean, elegant and simple -- capturing a part of that would be satisfying.

I'm a lot more comfortable with a 3d form to base things on, so I'm going to put together a figure early next week, and work out the detailed costume shapes on that. I'm also cleaning up the backstory, at the moment it's a bit long and ridiculous smile.gif

Replies

• kary
    Offline / Send Message
    kary polycounter lvl 18
    And now onto an extremely generic male high poly base: dom-war3-night2.jpg

Different problems doing generic muscled guy than the female characters I've been doing lately. A lot more landmarks, but it's easy to get lost in details and completely screw up major areas like the back. That'll be the main thing I work on fixing tomorrow night. There are also a disturbing number of details blown out (serratus look a little ridiculous, etc), but at least it is close to giving me something to draw the armour on.
  • kary
    Offline / Send Message
    kary polycounter lvl 18
    intozbwithfauxmaterials.jpg