Home Technical Talk

Creating AO maps in 3DS Max and tri-optimization

artstream
polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
artstream polycounter lvl 11
Hey polycounters,

I had two questions (I'm pretty new to ambient occlusion maps and optimizing by creating tris). I got a quick overview of how to do AO maps in 3DS Max (set the renderer to MR, Render to Texture, and create an AO map from there). I was curious about other techniques that you guys use to create your AO maps.

I also wanted to know this: I finally understand that tris are okay in a model because a game engine will triangulate the mesh anyway. My question is regarding a mesh that is all quads, you take into ZBrush/Mudbox, sculpt, and then bring back at the lowest subdiv to optimize. Where should tris usually go? Most tutorials/project overviews I see have tris in the joints (back of the knees, elbows) and the sharp points of a character (armor, toenails, claws, etc). Thanks for all your help in advance guys.

Replies

• artstream
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Another question, this would be regarding 3DS Max and ZBrush issues....I recently dual booted my Mac Pro with Windows XP SP2 32 Bit in efforts to run both 3DS Max and ZBrush. I'm having problems with both: With Max, I can't use DirectX---I have to use Open GL. With ZBrush, everytime I try to generate a normal from ZMapper, I get an error saying that the graphics card isn't set up right. My system specs are as follows:

Processor:2x 2.66 GHZ Dual-Core Intel Xeon
    Memory: 4 GB RAM 667 MHZ DDR2 FB-DIMM
    Graphics Card: ATI Radeon X1900 XT, 512 MB

It seems like I should just buy a PC....or learn to understand computers more....any advice is greatly appreciated..
  • Valandar
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Valandar polycounter lvl 18