Home Technical Talk

Shader programming: GLSL etc

polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
JKMakowka polycounter lvl 18
There is a surprising lack of discussion about this (it seems) integral part of game design on this forum, which kind of surprises me as it would be probably be quite beneficial for every game artist to at least understand what the "shader guy" is talking about wink.gif

So I recently ventured into these unknown lands of wonders, and was wondering if anyone got some especially good tutorials and/or tools he would like to share.
Or just some general insights to maybe get this discussion started so that others on this board might benefit too.

Replies

• Rick Stirling
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Rick Stirling polycounter lvl 18
    Yes, I'd be very interested in that.

GLSL vs HLSL etc.

I dowloaded an HLSL primer a few months ago, but to be honest, it was just mathematics, too programmer centric (and I have a degree in programming)
  • hyrumark
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    hyrumark polycounter lvl 12
    I just bought Ben Clowards's DVD. I'm about halfway through it and already it's been worth the price.
  • CheeseOnToast
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    CheeseOnToast greentooth
    From a layman artist's point of view hyrumark? Or do you have a programming background already?
  • JKMakowka
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    About HLSL/GLSL etc: this is what I have gathered so far:

HLSL/GSLS/CG are all high level languages that get translated to an assembly language before execution.
    In the case of OpenGL that is always the ARB assembly language (that can also be used to programm directly, and was often done in the recent years becasue of higher compatibility with older hardware.)

HLSL/GLSL/CG are pretty similar in syntax, and there are a few tools to convert between them (but often it doesn't work well).

HLSL is for DirectX only, GLSL is for OpenGL 2.0.