Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

my site is up, check it out!

took me a long time but it's finally up.

http://stonerooster.com/

This is my first time doing any kind of web design so pointers are appreciated.

Replies

• cholden
    Offline / Send Message
    cholden polycounter lvl 18

I'm not a fan of odd shaped thumbnails. I prefer to get a better idea of what I'm about to click on.

Main window smaller than images, forces scrollbar. Not a big deal here, but too easy a fix to leave in.

Army Bag and Cannon stand out as weakest pieces, in the way that I remember those two because of that, and not your other work because it's better. May consider dropping the two. I can't exactly put my finger on why, possibly the diffuse or lots of little things.

I'd like to be able to download your resume. You could also fit it in the window without scrollbars via a tighter font.

Most of that is al nit-picky stuff, nothign that's going to really break the deal on the job hunt I'm sure.
  • MoP
    Offline / Send Message
    MoP polycounter lvl 18
    Yeah, it's a bit weird that your image container space is smaller than your actual images. It's cutting off your name and contact details in the top right of a lot of those images.

Agreed on the thumbnail size too, twice as wide would be nice, makes them easier to click on as well as seeing more info.

Oh also, your "AcmeLeaver" lever model has the text flipped on the model even though it's the right way round on the texture, that seems a bit sloppy, I'd fix that since it wouldn't take very long to do and removes a negative point.

Any small stuff that is easy to fix, but otherwise leaves a bad impression on the mind of an employer is usually bad, so spend an extra 5 minutes and sort it out smile.gif

Other than that it's pretty cool, nice stuff. smile.gif
  • dnorth
    Offline / Send Message
    dnorth polycounter lvl 18