Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

3d model need critique *newb*

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
soulstice polycounter lvl 9
Hi guys... this is my second model. I'm fairly new to the 3d game so I was wondering if you kind folks here would be willing to spare some critiques? I didn't use reference while building and tried to keep the polycount low for practice, so I know the anatomy isn't exactly right. I'm really looking for critiques on the wireframe itself as I realize this is a big part of creating models, especially since I feel that I'm still flying blind when modeling.

I plan on exporting this into Zbrush for detailing, do I need to do UV's first before exporting for normal mapping purposes?

Thanks in advance guys! grin.gif

secondmodel.jpg

Replies

• low odor
    Offline / Send Message
    low odor polycounter lvl 17
    zbrush doesnt like triangles very much..There seems to be a bunch of edgeloops that are doing nothing. If you want a good example of a base sculpting mesh look up "baseman" on the forums here

It's not a bad start. Remember to use lots of reference( reference other peoples topology, photos of the human form, strut in front of the mirror naked)
  • fogmann
    Offline / Send Message
    fogmann polycounter lvl 17