Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Generic Action Hero/Soldier Bust

I posted this over on the Mudbox forums yesterday, but after 80-odd views, and no replies, I figured I'd probably get a better reception here.

It was made with the same base mesh I posted a while ago, with a few proportion tweaks. I'll just copy and paste what I wrote in the thread from the Mudbox forums, on account of me being a lazy bastard. tongue.gif

[ QUOTE ]
Hullo everyone,

This is the first sculpt that I've deemed worthy of showing, as I'm pretty new to sculpting, so I wanted some critiques and advice before I started adding any asymmetry, high frequency detail, scars, and the like. I'm hoping to turn this into a portfolio piece, if it takes a turn for the better.

I was pretty heavily inspired by Live Free or Die Hard (great film), and Bruce Willis' macho man pastiche. Hopefully it doesn't show too much, as I want some kind of creativity and originality, while maintaining the overall "action hero" style.

Please let me know what you think, and if it's worthy of some more effort and polish. I'm sure I screwed up on proportions and the muscle groups a lot, so I'd particularly like some help in that area.

Thanks for looking! grin.gif

jgarlandbustgb8.png

[/ QUOTE ]

Replies

• low odor
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    low odor polycounter lvl 17
    post more angles...right now neck looks too small...eyes ears an nose all look kina funky...use ref..the more you guess..the less the likeness and the anatomy will look correct..

http://webpages.csus.edu/~ald28/bruce.jpg

304381.jpg

• Joseph Silverman
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joseph Silverman polycounter lvl 17